About Us

Saskatchewan First Nations - Who Are They?

There are ten Tribal Councils and eleven Independent First Nations in Saskatchewan. The Tribal Councils assist the First Nations in achieving their political, economic, social, educational, health, financial and cultural goals. Tribal/Grand/Agency Councils are recognized as political units to further collective interests based on the jurisdiction, mandates and direction of their member First Nations. Following is a listing of the Tribal/Grand/Agency Councils, their member First Nations and the Independent First Nations.

Agency Chiefs Tribal Council (ACTC):

Big River First Nation
Pelican Lake First Nation
Witchekan Lake First Nation

Battlefords Tribal Council (BTC):

Little Pine First Nation
Lucky Man First Nation
Mosquito Grizzly Bear's First Nation
Poundmaker First Nation

Battleford Agency Tribal Chiefs (BATC):

Ahtahkakoop First Nation
Moosomin First Nation
Red Pheasant First Nation
Sweetgrass First Nation
Saulteax First Nation
Young Chippewayan First Nation

File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council (FHQTC):

Carry the Kettle First Nation
Little Black Bear First Nation
Muscowpetung First Nation
Nekaneet First Nation
Okanese First Nation
Pasqua First Nation
Peepeekisis First Nation
Piapot First Nation
Standing Buffalo Dakota Nation
Star Blanket First Nation
Wood Mountain First Nation

Touchwood Agency Tribal Council (TATC):

Day Star First Nation
George Gordon First Nation
Kawacatoose First Nation
Muskowekwan First Nation

Meadow Lake Tribal Council (MLTC):

Birch Narrows Dene Nation
Buffalo River First Nation
Canoe Lake First Nation
Clearwater River Dene Nation
English River First Nation
Flying Dust First Nation
Island Lake First Nation
Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation
Waterhen First Nation

Prince Albert Grand Council (PAGC):

Black Lake Denesuline Lake First Nation
Cumberland House Cree Nation
Fond du Lac Denesuline Nation
Hatchet Lake Denesuline Nation
James Smith Cree Nation
Lac La Ronge Indian Band
Montreal Lake Cree Nation
Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation
Red Earth Cree First Nation
Shoal Lake Cree Nation
Sturgeon Lake First Nation
Wahpeton Dakota First Nation

Saskatoon Tribal Council (STC):

Kinistin First Nation
Mistawasis First Nation
Muskeg Lake Cree Nation
Muskoday First Nation
One Arrow First Nation
Whitecap Dakota First Nation
Yellow Quill First Nation

South East Treaty #4 Tribal Council (SET4TC):

Ochapowace First Nation
White Bear First Nation

Yorkton Tribal Council (YTC):

Cote First Nation
Kahkewistahaw First Nation
Keeseekoose First Nation
Key First Nation
Ocean Man First Nation
Sakimay First Nation

Independent First Nations:

Beardy’s & Okemasis First Nation
Big Island Lake Cree Nation (Joseph Bighead First Nation)
Chacachas First Nation
Chakastaypasin First Nation
Cowessess First Nation
Fishing Lake First Nation
Onion Lake First Nation
Peter Chapman First Nation
Pheasant Rump Nakota Nation
Thunderchild First Nation

Points of Interest


Birds of Prey Program

Annually, the Birds of Prey Program allows for the distribution of feathers and other items from birds of prey such as Eagles and Hawks....

SICC Elders Council

The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) Convention Act Section 29 provides for the establishment of an Elders Council. This Council...

SICC Board of Governors

Uphold, advocate and assert the First Nations Inherent and Treaty Rights to language, culture, traditional arts and history...

INdigenous languages & cultures program

The Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre (SICC) is now accepting applications for the 2020-21 program year!

The Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre exists to protect, preserve and promote the languages and cultures of the eight language groups of what is now known as Saskatchewan: Plains Cree, Swampy Cree, Woodland Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Dakota, Nakoda and Lakota.


Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
305 - 2555 Grasswood Road East
Saskatoon SK S7T 0K1

Phone: 306-244-1146
Fax: 306-665-6520
Email: info@sicc.sk.ca